- The attachment is deleted. The storage space of that attachment is released and no longer in use.
- The name of the attachment remains. This allows the user to see what attachment was originally on an e-mail.
- The word (deleted) is added after the attachment name to indicate that the attachment is no longer there.
- The user can right-click on an individual attachment and choose Delete to remove just that one file.
The user can right-click on an individual attachment and choose Delete to remove just that one file.
Multiple attachments can be deleted at once using the Messages → Delete All Attachments(s) menu option. When this method is used, all attachments from all selected files in the list will be deleted. This is a very efficient way to clean-up a bunch of file attachments all at once -- just multi-select the e-mails whose attachments you want removed and then select the Delete All Attachment(s) option to delete them. Users can filter and sort the list to find the e-mails they want and then use this function as well...
A typical use of this feature is to delete the large attachments from the Sent Items folder. Since this is Sent Items, the attachment is known to be somewhere else already -- the user had to attach it from somewhere, whether it was the hard drive or File Share. Sort the list by message size, finding the largest e-mails, and delete those attachments.
Over time, the number of e-mail and number of attachments will grow quite large. This option provides the user a very easy way to clean up the older message attachments and keep the system running efficiently.